.
Oops, I Was Wrong: Lr5.2 Beta Does NOT Fix That Nasty Publish Bug )-:

Sigh, I spoke too quickly with my previous post.... the nasty Lr5 Publish bug is not fixed in the Lr5.2 beta.

UPDATE (Oct 25): Possible workaround discovered: see here.

I tested for this bug during the runup to 5.2 and though it was fixed, so either it became broken again in the final 5.2 beta build that Adobe released to the public, or, more likely, I just didn't test well enough. :-(

In either case, the bug remains at least to some extent, so as per my initial post, those working in Publish with Lightroom 5 are advised to make their selections with the filmstrip instead of the grid, or you risk that your photo/metadata changes are applied to a completely different set of photos than it appears.


Comments so far....

Seems to be the transition between “New Photos to Publish”, “Published” and “Modified to Re-publish” that is the root of the problem. The action(s) described below will also cause different images to be selected in Filmstrip versus Grid, when working on a published collection.
In Grid view select any image in “Published” or “Modified to Re-publish” then use the keyboards arrow keys to move between images without problems. But if you select an image in filmstrip and then move along between images with the arrow keys the mis-match in selected images (filmstrip versus grid) occur as soon as you transition between “New photos to Publish”, “Published” or “Modified to Re-publish”. When this transition occur you get two selected images, and the meta data Caption field will say “Mixed”.
An easy way to see this is to click outside the images to unselect all in the section with “Published” images, next click an images that has the status “Modified to Re-publish” in the filmstrip, followed by the keyboard arrow key. If I do this I end up having the image I clicked in the filmstrip and the last image among “Published” selected.

— comment by Fredrik Norrsell on August 2nd, 2013 at 10:10pm JST (1 year, 5 months ago) comment permalink

Hi Jeffrey! Long time user here! Love the plugin. Since upgrading to LR5, my exports won’t go into Zenfolio at all. It states that everything is exporting in LR, but once it’s done, nothing shows in the designated Zenfolio folder. Is this related to the current bug mentioned above? Thanks for all you hard work!

Try the “view photo at Zenfolio” context-menu item for a thumbnail (if in a Publish Service, that is), and it should show you where on Zenfolio it thinks it is. Be sure that you’re logged into Zenfolio in your browser, of course. —Jeffrey

— comment by Joe on August 6th, 2013 at 1:20pm JST (1 year, 4 months ago) comment permalink

Hi Jeffrey,

Just became aware of the bug just now reading your site.

A few days ago I “Published” some photos for the first time in a while, and I saw the bug. Of course I only recognized it as something “weird” going on, but during my session I noticed disconnects between filmstrip and grid selected images. So maybe the bug is not so rare at that (or maybe you and I are jinxed :>)

Thanks as always…

— comment by Michael Tapes on August 20th, 2013 at 8:56pm JST (1 year, 4 months ago) comment permalink

Jeffrey,

I love your plugin. I did find this bug inside 4.4, and I posted a comment in your general Zenfolio blog about two weeks ago, but I guess you haven’t seen it yet. I got to the problem when editing titles on photos that were already at Zenfolio, advancing using Ctrl-Right_arrow.

That probably doesn’t help solve the problem, but perhaps it could help locate the module(s) that cause the problem.

Dick

— comment by Dick Kain on September 1st, 2013 at 5:39am JST (1 year, 4 months ago) comment permalink

And Lightroom 5.2 final is now out … and still hasn’t fixed it :(

— comment by Dave Townsend on September 18th, 2013 at 12:42pm JST (1 year, 3 months ago) comment permalink

Hi Jeffrey,
could this be related to my observation? It’s not in publish, but it’s a discrepancy between what’s selected and what’s being processed – I observe it since the early 5.0s…
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=606580526050754
Best
Gunther

I don’t see a bug in your video… the “Paste Settings” history step was already on the first image, so of course it was still there when you went back to it after having pasted to the 2nd image. I’m not saying that there’s no bug; I’m just saying that your video doesn’t illustrate a bug as far as I can see. Also, a “Paste Settings” history event is added only when pasting settings actually results in a develop change… if the settings that are pasted are already that way, no change takes place and so no history step is added. Finally, it seems that there are some big tasks going on in the background… some tasks can change photos and update history steps, so unless they are specific to the bug you’re reporting, it’s probably best to illustrate the bug without anything going on in the background, just to remove possible interference. —Jeffrey

— comment by Gunther on October 21st, 2013 at 5:44am JST (1 year, 2 months ago) comment permalink

Hi Jeffery,
I will try to reproduce this without the background tasks. But my point is not the history. My point is that the first image of the sequence gets changed, although it’s not selected and I’m pasting to the second.
Best
Gunther

It’s not apparent (to me) in the video that the photo was changed. Perhaps try with wildly-different settings, so any change via an errant paste is wildly apparent? —Jeffrey

— comment by Gunther on October 21st, 2013 at 4:40pm JST (1 year, 2 months ago) comment permalink

So I’ve just upgraded to Lightroom 5 and patched it and suddenly I just never seem to be selecting the right image. I’m a bit horrified to see that this has been known for almost a month with no fix in sight. I’m not sure why it’s so much more predominant in LR5 but my working system is completely based on selections on the grid and arrowing forward, which means I’m simply never actually on the photo that I think I’m on. It’d deeply frustrating.

— comment by Sylvia on April 20th, 2014 at 5:50pm JST (8 months ago) comment permalink

Sylvia….

In my experience it has to do with double selection for compare mode, tied in with filtering the view, in my case with flags. It has caused deleted files for me, when I delete what i think is one file, but 2 get deleted. And yes I agree with you that Adobe is very derelict in allowing this bug to remain.

Note: Above are my observations, but not sure if they are correct in terms of the bug.

Michael

— comment by Michael Tapes on April 20th, 2014 at 11:05pm JST (7 months, 29 days ago) comment permalink
Leave a comment...


All comments are invisible to others until Jeffrey approves them.

Please mention what part of the world you're writing from, if you don't mind. It's always interesting to see where people are visiting from.

More or less plain text — see below for allowed markup

You can use the following tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Subscribe without commenting