It’s Coming: Time on a Roll
NOTE: Images with an icon next to them have been artificially shrunk to better fit your screen; click the icon to restore them, in place, to their regular size.

It's coming.... an event of monumental proportions.

A once in a lifetime happening. Literally. It will happen once, and never again.

It happens in a few days.... here is the moment in various timezones around the world:

Honolulu Friday, Feb 13 at 1:31:30pm
Anchorage Friday, Feb 13 at 2:31:30pm
San Francisco   Friday, Feb 13 at 3:31:30pm
Calgary Friday, Feb 13 at 4:31:30pm
New York Friday, Feb 13 at 6:31:30pm
La Paz Friday, Feb 13 at 7:31:30pm
Sao Paulo Friday, Feb 13 at 9:31:30pm
London Friday, Feb 13 at 11:31:30pm
Berlin Saturday, Feb 14 at 12:31:30am
Athens Saturday, Feb 14 at 1:31:30am
Nairobi Saturday, Feb 14 at 2:31:30am
Tehran Saturday, Feb 14 at 3:01:30am
Bangalore Saturday, Feb 14 at 5:01:30am
Kathmandu Saturday, Feb 14 at 5:16:30am
Jakarta Saturday, Feb 14 at 6:31:30am
Hong Kong Saturday, Feb 14 at 7:31:30am
Kyoto Saturday, Feb 14 at 8:31:30am
Sydney Saturday, Feb 14 at 10:31:30am
Auckland Saturday, Feb 14 at 12:31:30pm
Kiritimati Saturday, Feb 14 at 1:31:30pm

All the examples above represents the same moment in time....

....the moment that UnixTime rolls through 1234567890.

Mark your calendars, and ensure that your children are safe; some of the parties are likely to get well out of hand.

(Yes, I am a geek 🙂 )

UPDATE: You can follow the exciting second-by-second coundown here.


All 5 comments so far, oldest first...

Uh….O.K., I guess.

— comment by Grandma Friedl on February 12th, 2009 at 2:46am JST (8 years, 10 months ago) comment permalink

I’m not a programmer… and I have no clue about anything in Unix other than a few FTP commands from the olden days. Still, I’m usually aware of what my odometer reads and anticipate interesting patterns that also will never happen again (unless I wanted to try the Ferris Buehler method 😉 )

Therefore, I understand your geekness. Take screenshots! 🙂

— comment by JasonP on February 12th, 2009 at 4:44am JST (8 years, 10 months ago) comment permalink

I really wish I could be in Auckland for that event.

— comment by Doug Wilson on February 12th, 2009 at 5:53am JST (8 years, 10 months ago) comment permalink

mmh, I have one doubt: if unix time was created for independent time zone use, why the 1234567890 happens in different time in different location?

Because the same instant… the same moment… is represented by a different wall-clock time in each time zone. Humans express time that is always dependent on a location-specific timezone, while UnixTime has no connection to any specific human representation of time. Any conversion to or from a Unix Time necessarily involves a timezone for the conversion and for the human-time display. The list of human times on the post are a result of using various timezones around the world to convert that one UnixTime. —Jeffrey

— comment by max on February 13th, 2009 at 4:45pm JST (8 years, 10 months ago) comment permalink

I got it 🙂

My question was because I supposed (erroneously …) that Unix systems had a automatic way for syncronizing all unixtime in all Unix system all the world, so that ii could exists a unique world reference time (turn pink!)

bye 🙂

— comment by max on February 13th, 2009 at 10:44pm JST (8 years, 10 months ago) comment permalink
Leave a comment...


All comments are invisible to others until Jeffrey approves them.

Please mention what part of the world you're writing from, if you don't mind. It's always interesting to see where people are visiting from.


You can use basic HTML; be sure to close tags properly.

Subscribe without commenting